The Choice is Suzanne Woods Fisher’s first work of fiction.   The first book in the Lancaster County Secrets series, The Choice is about a young woman (Carrie) who was looking to run away with her secret suitor, Lancaster Barnstormers pitcher Solomon Riehl.  Before she knew it, her heart was shattered and she was faced with a choice.  Would it be all she had hoped?  Or will it change her life forever?

I loved Suzanne’s last book, Amish Peace, and was thrilled for a chance to review this one.  I was NOT disappointed!  Suzanne Woods Fisher has an amazing ability to put in plot twists and turns that would rival any daytime television show but still keep them believable.  The people are complex and never feel contrived.  I loved how REAL the characters were.  Many other Amish fiction writers portray their characters as almost too pious to be human.  I felt that these were real people first, Amish people second.

I love how she was able to weave the story such that I was entranced and couldn’t put it down, yet I didn’t speed through the book to find out how it ended. There were enough twists and turns that I wasn’t actually sure what the final outcome was going to be until it was finally revealed.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes clean fiction & romance and those who would like to learn more about the Amish culture.   You will not be disappointed!

Available January 2010 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Thank you to Revell for sending me a copy of this book for review.

3 Comments on Book Review: The Choice

  1. Suzanne Woods Fisher
    20 January 2010 at 6:38 PM (12 years ago)

    Hi Jen! Thank you for your lovely review of “The Choice!” For tweeting about it, too! Very, very kind of you. ~Suzanne


    jen Reply:

    I loved it:). Thanks for stopping by!!


1Pingbacks & Trackbacks on Book Review: The Choice

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment *

CommentLuv badge